Skip to content

Mary Sue Digital, LLC

E-book production, marketing and editing services for busy writers

I love cover design so I thought this was a cool post from Bookriot highlighting the best covers from Book Expo America.  Cover design is, in my opinion, one of the reasons physical books are here to stay.  

For me, a great cover can mean the difference between buying a physical book or buying an e-book (or just checking it out from the library).  It adds to the value of owning a physical book where as I don’t think it adds anything to owning an e-book.  My ownership experience isn’t enhanced in any way if the e-book I purchased has a good cover (which I can’t see that well on my b&w kindle screen anyway).

Thus the value of an e-book cover is entirely prior sale.  After the sale is made, that value goes out the window.  At least it does for me.  Kindle Fire, Nook Color, and iPad owners might feel differently.  I would be curious to hear how people who e-read in color or on fancier devices feel about the value of a good cover.  Anyone?

