Skip to content

Mary Sue Digital, LLC

E-book production, marketing and editing services for busy writers

File:Firefox Multiple mines.pngHow did people procrastinate in the days before high-speed internet?  I’ve been thinking about time-wasting techniques this afternoon because I just discovered yet another pleasurable time-suck: houzz.  Houzz is a home design website that lets you browse half a million photographs, create  albums of ideas, and share images through social media.  It’s a terrible, terrible idea!  I only discovered houzz yesterday but I’ve already spent more time than I should browsing photos of mid-century modern kitchens and saving them to my ideabook.

And I know I’m not the only one.  In this age of internet plenty, the procrastination possibilities are endless.  When I need a break from something I’m working on, I can window-shop for shoes on Zappos or browse cover designs at the Book Cover Archive or look at hilariously bad art at MOBA or catch up on the latest news from Romancelandia at Dear Author or browse countless other time-sucking websites.

People can procrastinate now more easily than ever, and I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing–at least not when it occurs in moderation.  I value my procrastination time.  I learn interesting things and become inspired by other people’s creativity.  Plus I can’t be grateful enough that I actually have a little bit of time to waste.  So even though “time-sucking” and “time-wasting” have such negative connotations, procrastination can have a positive function.  It’s a way to blow off steam and to keep the juices flowing.

So what do you think?  Do you agree that there are benefits to internet procrastination?  And please share your favorite time-sucking websites.  I can always use a few more!

